lotrointerface.com
Search Downloads


Go Back   LoTROInterface > LotRO > Developer Discussions > General Authoring Discussion (L)

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Unread 09-23-2023, 02:07 PM
Morgantine's Avatar
Morgantine Morgantine is offline
The Undefeated
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Jul 2023
Location: Ohio
Posts: 5
Localization

Folks who have localized your apps for work in English, French, and German, how do you find the right terminology? There isn't some reference somewhere with all of the names LOTRO uses now, is there? Or do you switch languages in the game (this is what I do), or have friends to help, or ask the forums, or...?

Curious what resources there are out there and if I'm doing it the hard way.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Unread 09-25-2023, 03:01 PM
homeopatix's Avatar
homeopatix homeopatix is offline
The Indomitable
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 14
Hello,

I do not know if i am doing the right way, but for me.

i initialize the language at the start of the addon,depending on the language
that the user have chosen, like this, in my library file (that load all the libraries needed for my addon)

i import the needed file depending of the language
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
-- Import Globals --
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
if Turbine.Engine.GetLanguage() == Turbine.Language.German then
import "Homeopatix.AltHolic.Localization.GlobalsDE";
GLocale = "de";
elseif Turbine.Engine.GetLanguage() == Turbine.Language.French then
import "Homeopatix.AltHolic.Localization.GlobalsFR";
GLocale = "fr";
elseif Turbine.Engine.GetLanguage() == Turbine.Language.English then
import "Homeopatix.AltHolic.Localization.GlobalsEN";
GLocale = "en";
end

and then in the three different language file

in french :
_G.T = {};
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
-- Francais --
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
T[ "Lang" ] = "Franšais";

in english :
_G.T = {};
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
-- English --
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
T[ "Lang" ] = "English";

in german :
_G.T = {};
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
-- Deutsch┤ --
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
T[ "Lang" ] = "German";


and in the your code, you juste have to call the T[ "Lang" ] array the get the valor in the
defined language

hope that will help you

Homeo

Last edited by homeopatix : 09-26-2023 at 07:34 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Unread 09-27-2023, 02:51 AM
Hyoss's Avatar
Hyoss Hyoss is offline
The Undying
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 147
I happen to be both fluent in English and German and switching the client's language I accomplish using OneLauncher and it's launch parameters - that makes switching the client language way more convenient, as I can create shortcuts to launch in En, DE, FR.

For French, I have over the years used Google translate first and accepted corrections from the community as they were sending them in.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:53 PM.


Our Network
EQInterface | EQ2Interface | Minion | WoWInterface | ESOUI | LoTROInterface | MMOUI | Swtorui