Quantcast
New Panels? - LoTROInterface
lotrointerface.com
Search Downloads


Go Back   LoTROInterface > LotRO > Developer Discussions > General Authoring Discussion (L)

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Unread 03-18-2010, 05:15 AM
Eidolon Eidolon is offline
The Undefeated
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 6
New Panels?

I really could not find this anywhere in the forums...

Can you create new panels that are independant of the existing panels? For instance, I would like to break the additional buttons off of the main toolbar and put them in their own panels.

I can reach this effect by making ToolbarField 1680x1050, but then, this obviously restricts the UI for use with this resolution.

If this can be done, can art assets be used with the new panels?

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Unread 03-18-2010, 04:31 PM
MrJackdaw's Avatar
MrJackdaw MrJackdaw is offline
The Undying
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Lancaster, England
Posts: 249
As far as I am aware it is impossible to make new panels or art assets - even splitting off individual buttons I think can't be done. Would be nice...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Unread 03-18-2010, 07:03 PM
Eidolon Eidolon is offline
The Undefeated
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 6
That's unfortunate. Of course, the workaround is to make the toolbar full screen. It doesn't seem to have any adverse effects so far.

EDIT: Updated layout in UI.


Last edited by Eidolon : 03-18-2010 at 07:31 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Unread 03-18-2010, 07:15 PM
daimon's Avatar
daimon daimon is offline
The Undying
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Finland
Posts: 466
as MrJackdaw says it can't be done.

Only way to do it is how you did it already. And only weakness in it that I can think of is when you switch between fullscreen mode and windowed mode. Have you tried that ?
__________________
~~ DaimonUI ~~
avatar by Humon
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Unread 03-18-2010, 07:30 PM
Eidolon Eidolon is offline
The Undefeated
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 6
I haven't. But I never do. But I should test it.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Unread 03-19-2010, 06:16 PM
Deewe Deewe is offline
The Undying
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eidolon
I can reach this effect by making ToolbarField 1680x1050, but then, this obviously restricts the UI for use with this resolution.
That's the trick I've been using for my UI to be able to move the pips and auto attack buttons anywhere in the screen

There come several drawbacks:
  • The skin needs one SkinDefinition.XML file per resolution
  • Resizing the tool bar in the UI options will mess the UI
  • The size of the ToolbarFiels has to be slightly smaller than the full screen or the player'll need to make the quickslot bars smallers to fit the main one.
  • It's painful for the players to move things around as it has to be manually done in the XML file
  • Very annoying to update for the authors when there are changes in the positional elements for the UI from Turbine
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Unread 03-19-2010, 09:34 PM
Ghil's Avatar
Ghil Ghil is offline
The Undying
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 37
It is basically a non-solution, as it creates way more problems than it solves. -_-'
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Unread 03-20-2010, 01:23 PM
Eidolon Eidolon is offline
The Undefeated
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 6
I have since done this, which makes it more resolution-friendly. The toolbar is about 390x820 and is placed in the lower left.

I am not ready to release it en masse, but if anyone is interested in playing around with it, you can download it here.

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Unread 03-20-2010, 01:35 PM
daimon's Avatar
daimon daimon is offline
The Undying
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Finland
Posts: 466
small tip: you can use high Y value on "ToolbarField" (something like Y="2000"). That will ensure your bar stays at the bottom no matter what resolution you use. The mainbar won't vanish outside your screen area what over values you use.
__________________
~~ DaimonUI ~~
avatar by Humon
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Unread 03-20-2010, 06:43 PM
Deewe Deewe is offline
The Undying
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by daimon
small tip: you can use high Y value on "ToolbarField" (something like Y="2000"). That will ensure your bar stays at the bottom no matter what resolution you use. The mainbar won't vanish outside your screen area what over values you use.
Nice trick, I wish I knew that long ago!

Funny I was one of the first to start playing with weird positions
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nemesis&Arch-nemesis Vital Panels Assets daimon LotRO Wish List (L) 3 12-01-2007 01:25 AM
Is there a skin with smaller vitals panels for raids? Belle Released Interfaces (L) 3 07-13-2007 08:32 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:35 AM.


Our Network
EQInterface | EQ2Interface | Minion | WoWInterface | ESOUI | LoTROInterface | MMOUI | Swtorui